Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us


News & Updates


Supplier Information

Passenger Services

Contact Us

About Us

Goto Yahoo!!

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

About Bhopal Division

Bhopal railway division was formed on 1 April 1952 as part of then the Central Railway. It is the second largest division of West Central Railway in terms of route kms, employee strength and freight earning. It has total 95 stations of different categories. The important stations of this division are Bhopal Jn of A-1 category, Bina Jn, Narmadapuram, Itarsi Jn, Vidisha, Rani Kamlapati of A category and Guna, Ganjbasoda, Harda, Sanchi, Shivpuri of B category stations. Rani Kamlapati station of Bhopal is equipped with free Wi-fi facility and has been awarded with the Best Tourist Friendly Station Trophy of IR in 2015.
      Total route and track kilometerage of Bhopal division are 1016 and 1921, respectively. This track is also supported by total 1587 bridges of all dimensions. The geographical extension of Bhopal division lies completely in the state of Madhya Pradesh and  on the map of Indian Railways is Khandwa (excluding) - Itarsi double line electrified BG Sec.;   Itarsi - Bina double line electrified BG Sec.;    Bina - Guna  single line electrified BG Sec.;   Guna - Gwalior (excluding) single line  non-electrified BG Sec.;   Ruthiyai - Maksi (excluding) single line non-electrified BG Sec.

           Some important ongoing works falling in Bhopal division are new lines on Ramganjmandi-Bhopal Sec. (262 Km.); doubling of Bina-Ruthiyai-Kota Sec. (282 Km.) and tripling project of Bina-Habibganj-Barkheda-Budni-Itarsi Sec.(total 242 Km). The foundation stone of Diesel Locomotive Traction Alternator Workshop has been laid in Vidisha of Bhopal division in 2015 for the purpose of indigenously manufacturing some important components to be used in Diesel Locomotives. Habibganj station has been chosen under Station Redevelopment Programme.
          The division has an Electric Loco Shed, having the holding capacity of 189 locomotives for the maintenance of electric locomotives at Itarsi and a Diesel Loco Shed with capacity of 170 diesel locomotives at Itarsi. There are four Carriage and Wagon depots at Bhopal, Habibganj, Bina and Itarsi and one ROH depot at Itarsi for routine overhauling of carriages and wagons.
           12 Mail/Express and 4 Passenger trains originate from Bhopal division. Itarsi Jn is the busiest operational point in the division for both passenger and good trains where a big Marshalling Yard facilitates large scale movement of trains by receiving, sorting, reforming and dispatching them. Itarsi Jn has stoppage of 330 trains daily. In FY 2015-16, total passenger and freight earnings of Bhopal division stood at 3535 cr and Rs. 997 cr, respectively. The main freight earning of Bhopal division is from fertilizer, POL and food grains which is loaded at Bina and Vijayapur sidings.
           The work force of Bhopal Division is 16566 (as on March 2017). The administration of division also runs two primary railway schools at Itarsi and 12 Bangla and one senior secondary school at Itarsi. 
       Bhopal division has many famous tourist and pilgrim spots such as Bhimbetka rock shelter (an archeological site near Bhopal) , Bhopal (known for Bhojeshwar temple, Manav Sangrahalaya, Van Vihar, Bhopal taal, Birla temple, Taj-ul-Masajid, Kerwa dam, Ratapani Tiger Reserve), Sanchi (for Stupas), Vidisha (known for Udayagiri caves and Udayeshvara temple) and Madhav National Park near Shivpuri.
Click here to see:- The System Map Of Bhopal Division

General Admin

Devashish Tripathi
Divisional Railway Manager

            Rashmi Diwakar                                                                      Yogesh Kumar Saxena
   ADRM (A&S)                                                                                    ADRM  (O&I) 

Ekta Arora

Rashmi Baghel

A. K. Tomar
Sr. DEN /Co

Ajay Kumar Mathur

Ajay Srivastava

Dr. Jay Dongre

Nireesh Rajput

Vijay Singh

Ravindra Sharma

R.C. Meena

Signal & Telecom
Dinesh Kumar Kalame

Prashant Yadav

  Facebook ( DRM BPL)                   

 Twitter (O/o The DRM/BPL)                          

Commercial Department  वाणिज्य विभाग

    Divyangjan Application for Smart card  दिव्यांगजन स्मार्ट कार्ड हेतु आवेदन पत्र का प्रारूप




Personnel Department




  Minor registration for compassionate appointment

  Seniority List

  Railway Quarter Registration list for Divisional Office

  Transfer List

  Book of Sections   


  Answer Keys 


 Account Department

   Organization Chart

   Sectional Chart


   Pensioner Booklet

   For NPS Employees (English)    (Hindi

   ARPAN Link (To login/Register in ARPAN by Pensioners of PRE-2016 retiree.)

   PRE - 2016 PPO Enquiry (To enquiry about revised PPO as per 7th CPC for PRE-2016 retiree revision.)


Engineering Department

  Guide lines for Maintenance of LC



  Guide lines for working on TMS

  Mini Yard diagram ET-KNW section

Electrical Department (Loco Shed Itarsi)

   About Loco Shed

   Organization Chart


   Basic Training Centre

   Training Calender 2019

   Good Work Done



Source : West Central Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed : 21-08-2023  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.